Amani Utupe

What a FUN Saturday we had at British International School today. Little Miss were taking part performing with her fellow Year 1-3 on Summer Fair stage. As after school activity this term she joined Tap Dancing and Rainbow Choir, since they are performing for this event she’s been through endless practice at school. Hubby and I were looking forward to see the fruit of her hard work.

Cut the story short, Little Miss was amazingly confident on the stage. She knows her tap dance routine very well and she sang her heart out with the choir! I am so proud of her, she is my superstar. One of the song that the children choir sang (and we practice the lyrics daily at home) is Amani Utupe (Grant Us Peace), it’s a mixed of English and Swahili text that goes like this  “As we travel down this weary road, amani utupe na ustawi. Grant us peace … give us courage .. amani utupe na ustawi” I love, love, love the song. I can’t take the rhythm out of my head by now, been humming along whenever my daughter sing it out loud :)

The girls were getting ice cream as a treat then off we go to the maze of games, prizes, food and shopping at the fair. The weather was perfect, everybody was having a blast. Little Miss had a first try in juggling tennis ball and walking on pogo stick. Hubby tried unicycle and look like he will pursue it in the future. I went for retail therapy, some ladies has good items on their tables, reminds me of my good old Jakarta days when I used to  take part in summer fair/bazaar.

We went back home around noon, drop our bags then head towards the upper deck for late lunch (which means more playing for Little Miss afterwards). Ordered our food, enjoying quiet time for a change until she saw the neighbours kids entering the playground  and off she goes playing. Hubby and I sat on the comfy couch watching her running around between the bouncing castle, swing and climbing wall, somebody will sleep really well tonite!

Today actually mark our arrival 5 months ago in the city, every now and then my thoughts still wandering in Bangkok familiar scene (the markets, school, etc). I miss the hustle and bustle of my daily routine there, the intricate language and the majestic Wai (salutation hand gesture). It’s not easy to explain but Bangkok will always have a special place in my heart. For now, this is home and I am very blessed.

