World’s Tallest Observation Deck

Image

The thing is, I am afraid of height.

Born and raised in Bali, I’m not used to high-rise building since in our Island nobody can build higher than the coconut tree (around 4th fl) unless you are on the hill or on top of the mountain you can’t really see that far from where you stand.

Since I started travel the world (last time I checked I’ve been into 21 countries out of 246) I’m getting my fear shaken quite often. With Hubby holding my hands, I managed to survive the Eiffel Tower, the Cupola in Vatican, the Singapore Flyer (which also happen to be the World’s biggest Ferris Wheel), The Observation Deck at Rockefeller Centre in NYC, The Peak in Hong Kong (not that tall compared to the rest in this list but really magnificent view) and latest dare was Shanghai World Financial District.

The SWFC opened on 28 August 2008, with its Observation Deck opening two days later. This observation deck, currently the world’s tallest, offers views from 474 m (1,555 ft) above ground level.

Among the skyscrapers in Pudong area the SFWC is known as The Bottle Opener since the shape of the building is quite a resemblance of one. There are three observation decks in Shanghai World Financial Center. The height of the lowest observation deck  is 423 m (1,388 ft), on the 94th floor, the second is 439 m (1,440 ft) high, on the 97th floor, named “Observatory Bridge”  and the highest is 474 m (1,555 ft) high, on the 100th floor. Admission fees range from RMB100 (US$15.40) for the 94th floor only, to RMB150 (US$23.10) for all three observation decks (we paid the later).

Image

When we reached to the 100th floor observation deck, my daughter walked straight to the glass tiles with no fear whatsoever looking straight down at the street below while I am frozen, watching her from the entrance with knee all weak, can’t move! It takes several minutes to adjust until I can function again, the view was amazing despite the foggy Shanghai day.

Image

Image

Image

ImageAfter seeing me gained my confidence over the fact that I’m in such a high place, Hubby asked me to crossover the glass floor to get rid of my fear altogether. It wasn’t easy at first, both Hubby and my daughter was holding my hands but I did it 🙂

Image

Yup, been there done that!